Indoor Cricket Champions, 2013

Finn-Asia successfully defended their championship this year against 10 teams in this year’s indoor tournament. The team captain, Hariharan Dandapani led by example and took the team successfully through the finishing line yet again. This year, however, was much more adventurous and nail biting than last year. Having won its first game vs ‘Empire CC’, It was time to face our sister team ‘Northern Lights Oulu’. This was a team led by Salman Q. Mian (who is also a squad member of Finn-Asia). Here Ayush Mishra bowled the first ever ‘Steve Finn’ No ball in the history of the tournament. ‘Northern Lights Oulu’ played very well and pulled out the biggest upset of the tournament by defeating us, the defending champions. This loss only made Finn-Asia more focused and committed.

Putting this loss behind us, we faced our next opponent ‘Kerava CC’, where some brilliant fielding by our Captain Hariharan Dandapani and Wicket Keeper Rakesh Purushothama helped us bag a crucial win. Then the last league match against ‘Turku Hawks’ proved to be an easy road to the big finals, courtesy of some great fielding by Shishir Jaikishan.

In the finals, we faced ‘Shaurya CC’ who were yet to be beaten in the tournament. There was an equal contest between the bat and the ball and the match headed towards a nail baiting last ball finish and ‘Finn-Asia’ held their nerve till the last ball to retain their trophy. And we had done it !! The defending champions had successfully defended their title.  ‘Finn-Asia’ became the “Champions” for the second time in a row.

Published by

Profile photo of kamesh